NFSP00000172 NFSP00000172

HORIZON WORKING GROUP

8 JUNE 1999

<u>Agenda</u>

- 1. Introduction by Ian McCartney
- 2. Proposed terms of reference; views of

a. Ian McCartney

b. POCL

c. NFSP

d. CWU

e. CMA

ł.

f. Summary of agreement reached; Ian McCarntey

3. Presentation by Stuart Sweetman POCL

4. Future work programme and schedule of meetings

HORIZON WORKING GROUP FIRST MEETING 8 JUNE 1999

Chairman : Ian McCartney MP

Stuart Sweetman, Managing Director, POCL

Dave Miller, POCL

Derek Hodgson, General Secretary CWU

John Baldwin, CWU

Terry Deegan, General Secretary CMA

Tony Harris, CMA

Colin Baker, General Secretary, NFSP

John Peberdy, NFSP

Frank Doran MP, PPS to Ian McCartney

David Sibbick, Director - Posts, DTI

Isabel Anderson, DTI

Geoff Moore, Assistant Private Secretary to Ian McCartney

PROPOSED TERMS OF REFERENCE

In relation to carrying forward the work on the POCL/ICL Horizon project:

- to oversee the negotiations between POCL and ICL which will develop the letter of agreement signed between the parties on 24 May into a Codified Agreement governing the contractual relationship under which the project will be taken forward, together with the consequential arrangements between POCL and the Benefits Agency; and to facilitate solutions to any problems which may arise;
- to oversee, to contribute actively to, and to facilitate solutions where problems arise, the completion of the development phases of the Horizon project, and in particular the smooth and timely roll-out of the system to all offices within the post office network, and the subsequent satisfactory migration of benefit payments from the present paper-based methods to more modern, ACT-based, methods of payment also accessible through post offices; and
- to contribute through ideas, contacts and other practical measures, to maximising the commercial potential of the Horizon infrastructure and the future viability of the post office network as a whole.